June, 1995

The annual meeting was held on March 12, 1995, in conjunction with the USCAP. Dr. David Head chaired an excellent symposium on the molecular pathology of hematopoietic neoplasms. The handout distributed at the meeting, as well as a reprint containing abstracts of the tnlks, is included with this mailing. There were a number of superb entries for the Pathologist in Training Award. Herman T. Yee was selected as the winner, for his study on the "Chimeric NPM-ALK Transcripts of t(2;5) in Anaplastic Large Cell Lymphoma and Hodgkin's Disease." The new simplified application procedure was a great success. It is not too early to start thinking about applications for next year's award. You can apply to the Society at the same time that you send your abstracil to USCAP in September. A copy of the application form is enclosed.

Dennis Weisenburger was elected Member at Large of the Executive Committee at the annual business meeting and twenty-three individuals were elected to membership in the Society. A list of the new members with their addresses is enclosed. In addition, I am pleased to announce several new committee appointments. LoAnn Peterson will be Chairman of the Membership Committee for 1995-96, and Randy Gascoyne joins Fred Behm and Steve Swerdlow in comprising the rest of that committee.

LoAnn Peterson completed a two year term directing the Case of the Quarter. Diane Farhi will be taking over those responsibilities for the next two years. Everyone is encouraged to submit interesting cases for distribution to the membership.

John Cousar has put together an interesting program covering several topics in bone marrow and iymph node pathology for the ASCP meeting next October. A copy of the program to be given in New Orleans is enclosed. John Strickler will be Joining Russ Brynes on the program committee for the ASCP the following year.

Many of you completed the Survey Form on Training Programs in Hematopathology. Diane Farhi, Richard Neiman, and Dom Pantalony have compiled a report based on your responses. It is very informative in highlighting topics emphasized in our Fellowship Programs. The report also will be distributed to the American Board of Pathology, as they have expressed interest in seeing these data. The vast majority of graduating fellows stay in hematopathology, and appear to put their training to good use. You will find a copy of the Ad Hoc Committee Report in this packet.

This mailing also includes the Report of the Workshop on T-cell Lymphomas held in Hong Kong last October. Faith Ho did a superb job organizing a tightly packed one day program. The workshop was attended by 110 participants from 23 different countries in Europe, Asia, North and South America. Sixty workshop cases on three topics related to T-cell Iymphomas were included. The discussion of Nasal and Related Extranodal Angiocentric Lymphomas was very informative and is the subject of the report to be published in the American Journal of Surgical Pathology.

Thank you all for your active participation in Society programs this past year. The upcoming workshop on Immunodeficiency-Related Lymphoproliferative Disorders promises to be another excellent event. Karen Chang and the other members of the Scientific Committee recently completed their review of the submitted cases. This workshop will offer a unique opportunity to directly compare immunodeficiency-associated malignancies fromseveral diverse clinical settings.

Elaine S. Jaffe

Dr. Yee is a fellow at New York University Medical Center. The study was directed by Drs. Inghirami and Frizzera and included collaborators from the University of Verona and the University of Leuven.