June, 1996

"Changing of the Guard"

In succeeding Dr. Jaffe as the Society' s President, I cannot realistically hope for a term marking so may advances in this organization' s activities. In fact, I consider it a challenge to carry on with our existing agenda!

March Washington. D.C. -- USCAP Meeting

This year there were 21 applicants for the Pathologist-in-Training award, by far the strongest field to date. Dr. D. Viswanatha from the University of New Mexico was the winner, with a poster presentation entitled "Correlation of PML-RARa mRNA transcript type with morphology, cytogenetics, and clinical parameters in acute promyelocytic leukemia." Award judges identified a contender so strong as to recommend recognition for honorable mention in the poster entry "Detection of the Philadelphia chromosome by interphase fluorescence in-situ hybridization in bone marrow transplant patients with chronic myeloid leukemia" from Dr. K.T. Stieglbauer of the University of Minnesota.

The Scientific Symposium, organized by Dr. Thomas Grogan, was on the subject of "Prognostic Factors in Aggressive Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma." Dr. Margaret A. Shipp, a distinguished hematologist/oncologist shared the podium with Society members Drs. Gascoyne, Braziel, and Grogan (see enclosed abstracts).

During the Society's business meeting Dr. Jaffe alluded to the FDA's newly announced regulations for immunostains. These are seen as a favorable response to the practicing pathologists' needs, requiring only "Class I device" standards good manufacturing procedures) for the suppliers. It should be noted that "the other side of the coin" is the responsibility placed on pathologists to maintain high standards for immunostaining methodology, in particular the consistent use of controls to maintain quality control.

Dr. Norman Levy's plan to generate an E-mail list-serve and a page on WWW is proceeding. For those members interested, please identify your E-mail address by contacting Dr. Levy by FAX at: 603-650-6120 or his E-mail address at: Norman.Levy@Dartmouth.edu.

Some members have expressed concerns regarding unrealistic requirements of the Residency Review Committee of the ACGME for hematopathology fellowship accreditation. Dr. Richard Brunning will lead an ad-hoc committee to study this issue and to report to the Society next year.

New officers elected were Nancy Harris as Vice President (President-elect), James Vardiman as Secretary-Treasurer, Sibrand Poppema as Member-at-large (2-year term), and Glauco Frizzera as Member-at-Large (4-year term). As President, I have enlisted the services of the following members to committees: Robert McKenna as head of By-laws and Constitution, David Menke as member of the Membership Committee, and Curtis Hanson on the ASCP Companion Meeting Committee.

Future Society Activities

Russell Brynes and his committee are planning the symposium for this fall's ASCP Meeting (see enclosure).

The next slide workshop will be hosted by Dr. Steven Swerdlow and his colleagues at the University of Pittsburgh, September 11-13, 1997. The topic will be extranodal hematolymphoid proliferations (excluding marrow and spleen).

The first activity to be jointly sponsored by the Society and the European Association of Hematopathology will take the form of a full-day Companion Meeting on Saturday, March 1, 1997 in Orlando. The title is "Clinical Translations from Hematopathology . " Konrad Miiller-Hermelink, President of the EAHP, and I are recruiting a stellar mixture of North American and European speakers for this scientific symposium. Information and registration will come through the USCAP meeting mailings.


The Society continues to increase its membership (see enclosed list) and is financially sound. We look forward to the oncoming 18 months with an ambitious agenda. Success is defined by our members' participation.

Peter M. Banks